RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2006, 02:55 PM   #1
Dog Woman
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Brier, WA (north end Seattle)
Posts: 35
Dometic Refrigerator's Shore Power

We purchased our Mobile Suites 2005 31RS3 in February 2006 and the refrigerator worked fine off our shore power. We are not yet retired, and have only had time to take it on one trip down to Springfield, OR from Seattle, WA. We stayed in a RV park & had no problems w-refrigerator. However, now with it sitting in our driveway, the refrigerator will not work on AC. When we turn refrigerator to AutoSelect, it automatically goes to gas. All other AC-powered functions work fine. We have studied refrigerator manual and tried every conceivable way to switch to shore power. Our shore power plugin is a 30 amp outlet, but 5er is 50 amp. Any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
John & Dianne
Tug Captain/1st Mate
2005 MS 31RS3 #1824
1996 F350 Heavy-Duty Diesel Crew Cab
Manual 5-speed, ZF5 transmission
AMSOIL synthetic oil products dealer
(ZO dealer#1079963)
Dog Woman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2006, 04:38 PM   #2
hitchup
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Currently: working on the road
Posts: 770
It may not be this: but did you check your breaker panel yet to see if any popped? Seems like power isn't coming in, so that is where I would look first.
__________________

__________________
2014 Mobile Suite Estates 38RSB - custom home
2014 F450 KR CC 4x4 ...... his office
2015 Lance 1172 - traveling Motel (solar and generator)
Working Fulltimers since 3/2005
hitchup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2006, 02:10 AM   #3
BobW
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Welches Oregon
Posts: 523
Make sure the RV is level.
__________________
Bob and Kate Weigant
Welches Oregon
Elite 2006 36TK3
2007 M2 Freightliner
2005 Wrangler
In a land of the blind, the one eyed guy is king.
BobW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2006, 04:51 PM   #4
Dog Woman
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Brier, WA (north end Seattle)
Posts: 35
Dometic Refrigerator's Shore Power

hitchup & Bob W: Thanks for your suggestions. 5er is level. Hubby checked and confirmed AC power is present up to the refrigerator, but still will not power up refrigerator. Dealer suggested refrigerator's card w-chip has gone bad.
__________________
John & Dianne
Tug Captain/1st Mate
2005 MS 31RS3 #1824
1996 F350 Heavy-Duty Diesel Crew Cab
Manual 5-speed, ZF5 transmission
AMSOIL synthetic oil products dealer
(ZO dealer#1079963)
Dog Woman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2006, 12:31 PM   #5
cwsoules
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 29
Call the manufacturer's 800 number and ask for help. I have and they can give you .trouble shooting advice and evaluate your problem
__________________
2000 Quad Cab 2500 Auto w/4:10 rear end. DTT 89% VB, TC, Mag HI-TECK Pan, Smart Box, EZ, PAC Brake, Pillar gage mount with EGT, Boost, and Tranny output temp, Miller Manufacturing Truck Bed Cover, with RBW 5er hitch, and
Rigged to tow a 29' Automate 5th wheel.
cwsoules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2006, 05:03 PM   #6
Hobo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Always on the Road
Posts: 558
Re: Dometic Refrigerator's Shore Power

I have a 2004 and had to have the electric heater for the 120V frig option replaced a year ago. it will be under warranty and should be easy to find a repair service to stand behind it. If husband has traced the power to the unit he should be able to pull the weirs for the heater and test with a continuity tester. Hope you have it fixed.
Rick

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dog Woman
We purchased our Mobile Suites 2005 31RS3 in February 2006 and the refrigerator worked fine off our shore power. We are not yet retired, and have only had time to take it on one trip down to Springfield, OR from Seattle, WA. We stayed in a RV park & had no problems w-refrigerator. However, now with it sitting in our driveway, the refrigerator will not work on AC. When we turn refrigerator to AutoSelect, it automatically goes to gas. All other AC-powered functions work fine. We have studied refrigerator manual and tried every conceivable way to switch to shore power. Our shore power plugin is a 30 amp outlet, but 5er is 50 amp. Any suggestions?
__________________
Rick & Maggi
03 2500 Chev Der-max
Lemon Tree 04 MS 36TK3 #0886
Hughes Net
Fulltimer since 1999
Find me at https://map.datastormusers.com/user1.cfm?user=2000
Hobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 02:25 PM   #7
MDTdriver
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ca. winter/USA summer
Posts: 233
AC to Frig.

This mybe to late to help you.
You said your 5er is 50amp and you are plug in 30amp with a adapter.
Some 30 amp adapters do not flow the power to both sides of 50amp cord some times, they are not all good adapters.
This is the first thing to check with your problem, again sorry if this is to late.

Larry
__________________

__________________
Fulltime June 2000 SK#82498
Our Home is Where we Park IT
International 4700 Low Profile 530 power:Full Air Ride
Prowler Regal AX6 :Trail Air pin box/spring over axle: Verizon internet: 2 Verizon cell phone
MDTdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×