RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-18-2017, 05:32 AM   #1
dmascheck
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 136
Best antennae choice for Dish setup for a newbie!

I see so many different units from Tripod mounted units to the contained ones.

Questions:
1. What unit seems to perform best for you?
2. Permanent mount on roof or tripod?
3.I worry about mounting on the roof and causing a leak in the roof.
4. Can you use a Dish card from a TV in your house to sign on to a unit in a trailer.

I hate having to pay for another unit when we have several in my house.
__________________

dmascheck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 09:24 AM   #2
oldbird
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 287
I have two, a Wineguard Traveler 1000 mounted on the roof and a portable G2 incase I'm in the trees. The one on the roof I sealed it with that stuff that comes in a roll and after installing it covered it all with electrometric roof paint. Use a receiver from your house, dishnetwork supports this. The G2 can get all three satellites.
__________________

__________________
Glenn 2008 36TK3 #4571
oldbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 06:30 AM   #3
dmascheck
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 136
Your unit is on the higher side comparing it to the one Dish has. Is it that good? Why not just use the tripod and it would cover trees or open sky instead of having both?
dmascheck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 08:35 AM   #4
oldbird
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 287
For years I had a tripod and got tired of aiming it. Now I just push a button and five minutes later its downloading the TV guide. Same with the G2.
__________________
Glenn 2008 36TK3 #4571
oldbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 08:42 AM   #5
wingnut60
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Where we park it
Posts: 2,785
Glenn,
I'm just getting too old to push buttons...need something that takes it out of the basement, checks the sat view, sets it on the ground and plugs it in. I do have a button-pusher inside the trailer--my wife won't let me touch anything.....
__________________
2016 Tiffin 40 QBH
2015 38RSSA, traded
2005 TK3 #1869, 10 yrs of memories,
2017 F450 KR--one more Ford is it
2009 F450 4x4-died; 2010 F450-retired
wingnut60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 08:55 AM   #6
oldbird
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 287
haha, When you get to old to push buttons better find a old folks retirement home!
__________________
Glenn 2008 36TK3 #4571
oldbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2017, 05:46 PM   #7
Rockyhud
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 85
I know this post is a little old but it's of interest to me as well. Our new to us RV has a roof mounted auto-dish antenna (rotates and finds the best signal auto-magicly), BUT it's setup for use with DirecTV, not Dish (our preferred provider). So, if I'm reading this right, it sounds like a Dish home receiver (like VIP722 we have at home) can be used in our RV once we've converted the auto-antenna to pick up Dish satellites? I still need to look into how to do this last part.
__________________
Steve and LaDonna
2011 Mobile Suites 38TKSB3 #5509
Rockyhud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2017, 05:33 AM   #8
dmascheck
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 136
Seems to be the consensus! I don't have one as of yet and don't want to be screwing a unit into my roof, so I'll opt for a tripod mount which gives more flexibility. Especially if you have trees where you park.
dmascheck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2017, 10:24 AM   #9
wingnut60
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Where we park it
Posts: 2,785
Need to find someone who has the tripod Dish antenna and watch them set it up before making your decision...
__________________
2016 Tiffin 40 QBH
2015 38RSSA, traded
2005 TK3 #1869, 10 yrs of memories,
2017 F450 KR--one more Ford is it
2009 F450 4x4-died; 2010 F450-retired
wingnut60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2017, 10:53 AM   #10
oldbird
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 287
I couldn't have said that better Joe! That's the last thing I'll do again. PITA

Get a winegard G2 or another type portable if you can't get your roof antenna converted.
__________________
Glenn 2008 36TK3 #4571
oldbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2017, 11:47 AM   #11
dmascheck
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 136
I'll check in to it!
dmascheck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2017, 11:16 AM   #12
joleyred
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 14
We are in the same place with our decision, and don't know enough about it to ask questions. I want a satellite dish, preferably a roof mount that doesn't require a contract, and possibly one that will connect to the internet. Is that a possibility? The WiFi in almost all parks is really nonexistent. We are part timers, so I don't want to be tied to a contract. Which dish is the best, will it receive an internet signal. We have a 2016 36RSSB3 and need to get some of this resolved. Thanks and Merry Christmas....
joleyred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2017, 12:19 PM   #13
oldbird
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 287
No TV sat will get internet also, that I know of. I used to have a motosat and could piggly back the internet LNB with two LNB's of dishnetwork making it a 'dual' dish but motosat datastorm dish is out of business. You can check it out here: http://www.datastormusers.com/cgi-bi...cgi/index.html

I got rid of that motosat after 5 years and bought a Traveler Winegard 1000 for dish network mounted on the back of my DRV. In the middle of the roof on the DRV I mounted a https://www.rvmobileinternet.com/a-n...a-sat-service/ and now can get online anywhere unless there are trees, etc. Very expensive but we spent a lot of time south of Mt Rushmore and in the UP of Mi where there isn't any cell service.
__________________
Glenn 2008 36TK3 #4571
oldbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2017, 07:30 PM   #14
Rockyhud
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 85
I have done some preliminary research on the Wineguard site and deterined, so far, that I can get a replacement reflector and LNBs that support Dish Network. I just haven't gotten any pricing on the conversion yet. The auto-dish antenna system is basically brand new as the owner replaced it shortly before they put it up for sale, so it would be nice to take advantage of this new antenna first and see if there's any need for a portable unit later.

As for combined Internet and satellite TV setups, Glenn is right. As best I know there is no satellite TV provider that combines actual satellite sourced Internet service over the same antenna system as what TV signals are received. If I recall, Dish used to and and maybe still does, provide combined service but essentially does this by utilizing locally available Internet service, via cable, DSL or over the air broadband service and bundles the service costs. A call to Dish or DirecTV should get you the answers you need.
__________________
Steve and LaDonna
2011 Mobile Suites 38TKSB3 #5509
Rockyhud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 05:43 AM   #15
dmascheck
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 136
Many take their Dish box out of their house and put it in their trailer for the time they are mobile.

I worry more about cell signal and or Wi-Fi. I have over 600 movies purchased on Apple, as long as I can get a decent signal, I have access to the movies for entertainment. I need to see if I can copy most on a 5 terabyte drive for the times we can't get a signal!
dmascheck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 09:43 AM   #16
Notanlines
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Germantown, Tennessee
Posts: 489
Could you just imagine; 600 movies stored at home for about $180? Such a deal that would be.
__________________
Jim and DW 48 years Brenda
2017 38rssa, also a 2015 Salem (for Alaska)
2019 F450, ruby red
Harley Road King & sidecar
Notanlines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 10:57 AM   #17
Rockyhud
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmascheck View Post
Many take their Dish box out of their house and put it in their trailer for the time they are mobile.
This is what we plan on doing once we (presumably) sell our rural house and property this coming summer. After the sale, our plan is to move our RV to our daughter and son-in-law's property, about 2 miles south of us, and setup residence there for a while. During that time I plan to use our Dish receiver we're using in the home now, using the Winegard auto-dish and Winegard OTA antennas on the roof, once I get the auto-dish converted to Dish Network use. For Internet service, we currently use a local ISP that services our area with wireless broadband coverage and should be able to continue using. Later on, once we're no longer residing there, I'll be looking for another Internet provider.
__________________
Steve and LaDonna
2011 Mobile Suites 38TKSB3 #5509
Rockyhud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 05:21 PM   #18
oldbird
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 287
Steve, I was considering switching to DirectTV but winegard told me that my sat couldn't be converted?
__________________
Glenn 2008 36TK3 #4571
oldbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2017, 11:59 AM   #19
Rockyhud
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 85
Glenn, I got the impression at least that our Winegard auto-dish could be converted recently by one of there tech guys when I inquired about that using their online chat. The guy asked what model I had, even providing me a particular model used for DirecTV, and I didn't have that info handy so I couldn't tell him and he couldn't help much at that time. I did say this was a very recently replaced so it almost had to be their latest, but again I couldn't say. I still need to check that out so I'll have more data next time I contact them. It may be that your Winegard setup is older and possibly not supported for that type of configuration change, maybe due to parts availability or other reasons - I'm just guessing. I'll check the model of our setup and let you know what it is. If you're still interested in converting, presuming you have Dish Network components on yours now, we could see if your antenna and ours have interchangeable parts and maybe work out a swap.
__________________
Steve and LaDonna
2011 Mobile Suites 38TKSB3 #5509
Rockyhud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2017, 01:53 PM   #20
oldbird
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 287
That's an interesting idea Steve. This is what winegard chat told me:
Glenn,

The SK-1000 Trav'ler is a DISH only system, it cannot be switched to DirecTV.

Thank you,

Winegard Customer Support

800-288-8094/800-788-4417

I have been with Dish for 14 years but I'm only looking into my options at this point. My antenna is only two years old so I'm thinking it has the latest stuff. What I'm doing is looking into getting rid of Sprint (worthless data roaming policy) and thinking about AT&T because they have towers where I go. If I switch to them they also own Directv and will give a discount if I switch to them. I'm not sure what I'm going to do yet.
__________________

__________________
Glenn 2008 36TK3 #4571
oldbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×