Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2007, 09:19 PM   #1
Lauren
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sahuarita, AZ
Posts: 65
Heat / furnace Issue

The heating system in our 32TK3 is sporatic. Sometimes it comes on; sometimes not. Have replaced the thermostat. When we go to bed at night we can wake up and it is cold; furnace has not kicked on. Sometimes it can come on a few times and then it won't. If you turn the thermostat off on the bottom and back on the furnace kicks on! It is still warranty but am looking for any input anyone might have. Was to take it to a dealer next week for all the warranty issues but they called and told me they would not do the work as I did not buy it from them (there was a good reason I did not). (Won't get into that in this message, but will - at some point - in another one. There is at least one real bad dealer out there). Comments on the heat thing welcome. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Lauren -- Good Wife Barbara
& Good Dog Sadie (Australian Terrier)
2006 MS 32TK3
2006 Chevy 3LT Dmax (LB3)
Lauren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2007, 09:45 PM   #2
ponch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Springfield, Il.
Posts: 655
Send a message via AIM to ponch Send a message via MSN to ponch
lauren
Turn off the system and Wait a few minutes. Then when you turn it on hold the bottom and top buttons of the selector unit to reset it and see if that helps.

Ponch
__________________

__________________
Ponch
S.O.I.T.C. Central Division
2007.5 3500 HD GMC dually
Mobile Suites 2005 36CK3 #2307 w/ auto levelers/ phase 2
Air Safe Hitch
HD TV in the basement and living room and bedroom
HD MOTO SAT Auto Ant on roof
pressure pro
ponch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 06:52 AM   #3
RustyJC
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 94
It's quite possible that the furnace has a sporadic flame detection or sail switch problem. It tries to light, a sensor determines that either the flame hasn't been established or that there's no airflow and locks out. When you turn the thermostat switch off and back on, you reset the furnace for another try.

Rusty
__________________
Rusty & Sandy Creekmore
2 Shelties - Annabelle and Coby
2004 DoubleTree Mobile Suites 36RE3 #1291
2002 Dodge 3500 DRW Cummins HO/6-speed
RustyJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 07:16 AM   #4
Lauren
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sahuarita, AZ
Posts: 65
Oops, should have mentioined. Kent at DT MS told me about a reset procedure for the thermostat. I have gone thru that several times. To no avail. Being an intermittent thing I figure getting imput here might here the tech find something. Thanks.
__________________
Lauren -- Good Wife Barbara
& Good Dog Sadie (Australian Terrier)
2006 MS 32TK3
2006 Chevy 3LT Dmax (LB3)
Lauren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 07:25 AM   #5
rverdlm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: On the road
Posts: 1,063
Lauren, there are many possibities, but I think the thermostat is not the problem. RustyJC mentioned the fleme detector and sail switch. I'd also check the gas supply i.e. pressure and flow. Have you taken a flashlite and looked into the 2 holes on the exterior of the trailer. One is intake and one is exhaust. Any restrictions like wasp nest will cause your problem. These furnaces can be very sensitve and have many sensors anyone of which can cause problems.
__________________
Dave & Barbara
KenWorth T2000
2005 Mobile Suites 38RL3 #2338
MorRyde IS 8K axles, LazyBoy recliners, LCD tv
Full time since '96
rverdlm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 09:12 AM   #6
Motor31
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,130
The furnace issue was already covered by others in this thread. I don't have additional ideas on it.

I am curious which dealer refuses to honor the warrantee on these rigs if you don't buy fromn them. The DT factory needs to be advised of this and a complaint through the BBB might be in order too. We should have a list of dealers to avoid in cases like this so no one buys from them as well.
__________________
Mike Nancy and the fuzzies
Fulltiming since June 2004
Volvo 660 MH tow vehicle
2005 MS 38RL
2007 Saturn Ion "toad"
2010 Gold Wing "piggyback"
Motor31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 09:22 AM   #7
Lauren
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sahuarita, AZ
Posts: 65
I will not be going into the dealer issue here but will be addressing it in another posting in the next few days. Yes, DT knows about it to some extent already (the rep and he basically took my side on it as he was involved when I bought it!). I appreciate all input as this is furnace thing needs to be addressed - it the darn intermittent part that is even more troubling.
__________________
Lauren -- Good Wife Barbara
& Good Dog Sadie (Australian Terrier)
2006 MS 32TK3
2006 Chevy 3LT Dmax (LB3)
Lauren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 10:28 AM   #8
butch50
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Roseburg, OR
Posts: 109
I would call DoubleTree/Kent and get authorization to take it to another dealer. For something like this it doesn't have to go to a DoubleTree dealer. It is a Suburban furnace. Any dealer should be able to work on it and if needed they can call the factory. Actually thinking about it now the warranty is most likely going to be paid for by Suburban and not DoubleTree if it proves to be something wrong in the furnace. Either way I would contact Kent also and go to another dealer. Don't mess around with this one.

There could be a number of things failing. Like was posted if the sail switch doesn't think you are getting enought air flow it will not allow the furnace to light up. Also if the furnace tries a certain number of times and fails to ignite it will stop trying.

Butch
__________________
2006 F550 4X4 CC PSD Manning pickup bed
2006 Elite Suites 36TK3
butch50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 03:31 PM   #9
bstark
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Fergus, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 1,000
I almost hesitate to mention another possibiity due to it's simplicity, but, sensor placement may be a problem as well.

If you have the dual zone set-up, the furnace takes it's pick up from zone one and the sensor is above a light on my floorplan. Using that light or having the fireplace running will give that sensor a false indication of heat in the trailer and the furnace won't activate to heat the rest of the coach.

Perhaps in your floorplan, the sensor is near some heat source that is preventing your thermostat from getting a "cold" signal?
__________________
Sandra, Bruce
bstark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 04:25 PM   #10
hitchup
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Currently: working on the road
Posts: 770
Bypass Doubletree dealers & go straight to Dometics - Suburban.

I don't recall if I found one online or in owners manual. But they sent an RV tech out in the local area & we got ours fixed fairly quickly in Nov. $20 for service call since they were already coming to RVP for another repair.

http://www.dometicusa.com/

http://www.rvcomfort.com/
__________________
2014 Mobile Suite Estates 38RSB - custom home
2014 F450 KR CC 4x4 ...... his office
2015 Lance 1172 - traveling Motel (solar and generator)
Working Fulltimers since 3/2005
hitchup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 08:44 PM   #11
Hobo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Always on the Road
Posts: 558
Low voltage will keep the valve from opening properly, or keep the fan from full flow hens the sale switch will not close.
If you on shore power the converter should be taking the load not the batteries but that would not rule out a bad wire or connection.
And the list goes on.......
__________________
Rick & Maggi
03 2500 Chev Der-max
Lemon Tree 04 MS 36TK3 #0886
Hughes Net
Fulltimer since 1999
Find me at https://map.datastormusers.com/user1.cfm?user=2000
Hobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 09:21 PM   #12
RustyJC
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hobo
And the list goes on.......
And what list might that be?

Rusty
__________________
Rusty & Sandy Creekmore
2 Shelties - Annabelle and Coby
2004 DoubleTree Mobile Suites 36RE3 #1291
2002 Dodge 3500 DRW Cummins HO/6-speed
RustyJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 10:07 PM   #13
Hobo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Always on the Road
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by RustyJC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hobo
And the list goes on.......
And what list might that be?

Rusty
The list of possible causes for the furnace sporadic operation
__________________
Rick & Maggi
03 2500 Chev Der-max
Lemon Tree 04 MS 36TK3 #0886
Hughes Net
Fulltimer since 1999
Find me at https://map.datastormusers.com/user1.cfm?user=2000
Hobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 11:02 AM   #14
JudyGail
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 148
Send a message via ICQ to JudyGail
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hobo
If you on shore power the converter should be taking the load not the batteries but that would not rule out a bad wire or connection.
And the list goes on.......
Doesn't that still draw power from the batteries? Right now we are having single digit and below zero temps.... the heater is running near constantly (even with a supplemental 110 space heater). During the day with lights on (ours are all 12 volt), the battery "lights" will drop to 3 and 2.... at night, they recharge up to full.

I sure hope AZ warms up next winter! We have to keep our trailer at least 45 degrees, 50 is better. We have two parrots.
__________________
Judy Gail
MobileSuites '06 36TK3 #3151
Fulltimer Aug. '06, Hit the Road Sept. '07
JudyGail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 06:49 PM   #15
Gemstone
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boydton, VA
Posts: 443
JudyGail said "Right now we are having single digit and below zero temps.... the heater is running near constantly (even with a supplemental 110 space heater).

'Tis cold in western AZ too, but not that cold ! It'll be Mexico for us next winter ! I found our unit was leaking a lot of air around the slides. I bought a cheap black foam excersize mat, cut it in strips and stuffed all of the cracks, both inside and outside. It made a big difference in our energy consumption.....

Regards
Gemstone
__________________
No longer on the road.
Gemstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 12:09 AM   #16
Hobo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Always on the Road
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by JudyGail
Doesn't that still draw power from the batteries? Right now we are having single digit and below zero temps.... the heater is running near constantly (even with a supplemental 110 space heater). During the day with lights on (ours are all 12 volt), the battery "lights" will drop to 3 and 2.... at night, they recharge up to full.

I sure hope AZ warms up next winter! We have to keep our trailer at least 45 degrees, 50 is better. We have two parrots.
Your inverter should come close to running everything even if the batteries were disconected. It my put out less in the day when the 110 park power drops due to the rest of the park turning on their space heaters in the AM.
It will be going into the low 30s here in the Yuma foothills this week but it is a lot better then your teens. In MI I had 50 amp and free electric so I ran 3 space heaters, 1 in the basment, 2 in the living area. Worked great.
I keep it between 50 and 60 at night for my birds.
Rick
__________________
Rick & Maggi
03 2500 Chev Der-max
Lemon Tree 04 MS 36TK3 #0886
Hughes Net
Fulltimer since 1999
Find me at https://map.datastormusers.com/user1.cfm?user=2000
Hobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 07:42 AM   #17
Lauren
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sahuarita, AZ
Posts: 65
I will be dropping off here. Thanks to you who replied to my furnace / heat issue. I know AZ is cold, I live here. And the conversation was turned to batteries, weather and birds.
__________________
Lauren -- Good Wife Barbara
& Good Dog Sadie (Australian Terrier)
2006 MS 32TK3
2006 Chevy 3LT Dmax (LB3)
Lauren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 10:16 AM   #18
lnklatt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 17
Furnace operation problesm

See my post on the other thread for the solution I found for the furnace operation problem - replace the gas regulatory installed at the propane tanks. The original regulatory installed on our unit was a Marshall unit.

Yesterday I also discovered that the heat from the light fixture just below the temperature sensor located on the rear cabinet (the white object) is sufficient to prevent the thermostat from activating the furnace. I turned off the light and shortly thereafter the furnace started.

lnklatt
2005 32TK3
lnklatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 09:59 AM   #19
Lauren
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sahuarita, AZ
Posts: 65
HEAT!!!

Well, it would appear this has finally been solved. As was mentioned earlier in this thread, it was the regulator. At least that seems to be it. Not sure what the numbers mean for sure but the furnace needs 12 and regulator was set at 8 - presume that is psi. I had heard from one guy that said he had changed regulators and that solved the problem. It is adjustable so they just set it at 12. It has worked three nights in a row now so we presume it is ok.

Thanks to everyone for all you ideas and help.

Lauren
__________________

__________________
Lauren -- Good Wife Barbara
& Good Dog Sadie (Australian Terrier)
2006 MS 32TK3
2006 Chevy 3LT Dmax (LB3)
Lauren is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×