Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2006, 06:01 PM   #1
rverdlm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: On the road
Posts: 1,063
WIFI weak signal

When we pull into a CG with WIFI and get set up many times the signal is so weak it's hard to use. My wife and I both have laptops and use them at the same time. When we have our DirecWay dish set up it runs through a router so we are both on wireless. Is there any way to use an antenae through my router? We don't want to be hooked up with a wire running to an antenae because we don't like wires running across the floor. We also would need 2 antenaes for 2 computers. Any solution that will allow us to increase our signal strength would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Dave & Barbara
KenWorth T2000
2005 Mobile Suites 38RL3 #2338
MorRyde IS 8K axles, LazyBoy recliners, LCD tv
Full time since '96
rverdlm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 10:30 AM   #2
rverdlm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: On the road
Posts: 1,063
I didn't get any responces, but I've fixed the problem and I thought I'd pass along what I did. I went to Circuit City and purchased a Belkin Wireless Pre-N card. It said it has wider coverage. When I installed it into the computers both went from 2 yellow bars and a weak signal to 5 green bars and a strong signal. Before we could barely get on and would get knocked off constantly. Now we get on immediately and stay on. This is a huge improvement. Pre-N is what will soon be replacing G & B. It is backward compatible. I'm really quit impressed.
__________________

__________________
Dave & Barbara
KenWorth T2000
2005 Mobile Suites 38RL3 #2338
MorRyde IS 8K axles, LazyBoy recliners, LCD tv
Full time since '96
rverdlm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2006, 03:18 PM   #3
Stripit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Home Prescott, Az
Posts: 1,016
Send a message via AIM to Stripit Send a message via MSN to Stripit Send a message via Yahoo to Stripit
Hi Dave;
We wonder where your router is placed in your trailer? On our rig, the router is under the desk, and one computer is hard wired in, and then my computer is wifi to that modem. If having it under or in a cabinet will block some signal strength??
__________________
2013 Tiffin Allegro 34 QFA
2015 Cadillac SRX (towed)
2019 Tesla Model X
1991 Avanti Conv
Stripit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 04:52 PM   #4
rverdlm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: On the road
Posts: 1,063
Hi Stacy; We're looking forward to seeing you again at the rally. The router is only 5' away from the computer, but that isn't the problem. We always have a good signal to the router. The problem is in finding a way to recieve the CG WIFI signal better.
__________________
Dave & Barbara
KenWorth T2000
2005 Mobile Suites 38RL3 #2338
MorRyde IS 8K axles, LazyBoy recliners, LCD tv
Full time since '96
rverdlm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2006, 07:43 AM   #5
Stripit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Home Prescott, Az
Posts: 1,016
Send a message via AIM to Stripit Send a message via MSN to Stripit Send a message via Yahoo to Stripit
Quote:
Originally Posted by rverdlm
The problem is in finding a way to recieve the CG WIFI signal better.
NOW I understand. Somehow I missed that the 1st time around. Looking forward to seeing you both!
__________________
2013 Tiffin Allegro 34 QFA
2015 Cadillac SRX (towed)
2019 Tesla Model X
1991 Avanti Conv
Stripit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2006, 10:00 AM   #6
chismtrail_er
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wimberley, TX
Posts: 124
WIFI Weak Signal - Great new idea

There is a great article in the latest issue of Trailer Life that describes a home-made directional antenna to boost campground WIFI signals to yor trailer.

I can't wait to try this.....downside is one more thing to set up at the site, but worth every penny if you are far from a hotspot or repeater, and don't have the time or inclination to set up DirecWay.
__________________
Jay & GayLynn
05 Chevy 3500 DRW 4x4 Diesel/Allison
Prodigy
05 36TK3 #1557
DirecWay/DirecTV
chismtrail_er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2006, 10:56 AM   #7
CampingCaptain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Posts: 741
Send a message via AIM to CampingCaptain Send a message via Yahoo to CampingCaptain
Jay,
Have you or anyone you know tried using Vonage phone service with DirecWay internet service? Just wondering how it might work.
__________________
Bryan & Lee Anne Richardson
Fire captain/Eagle Scout
Us Coast Guard 1970-1974
Vietnam Era Veteran
Proud parents of a US Marine
Retiring in 2007 and planning to go full-time
CampingCaptain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2006, 02:51 PM   #8
chismtrail_er
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wimberley, TX
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by CampingCaptain
Jay,
Have you or anyone you know tried using Vonage phone service with DirecWay internet service? Just wondering how it might work.
I have it, just have not hooked up yet. I was told by a Direcway dealer that it will work as long as you set the bandwidth to the lowest settin in the Vonage Linksys router. He said to set it to 30. He also said to expect some delaying. I am leaving for Ohio and Indiana this Saturday, and can give an actual trip report on a couple of mods.

Vonage and Direcway
Wireless RearView camera
Laptop stand (for use w/ MS Streets & Trips w/ GPS

I have to get a B Channel Bridge to try the homemade WIFI Antenna.
May do that on this trip to give mesomething to do.

We have two wireless Laptops, so I expect to really give things a workout.
__________________
Jay & GayLynn
05 Chevy 3500 DRW 4x4 Diesel/Allison
Prodigy
05 36TK3 #1557
DirecWay/DirecTV
chismtrail_er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2006, 03:22 PM   #9
CampingCaptain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Posts: 741
Send a message via AIM to CampingCaptain Send a message via Yahoo to CampingCaptain
Jay,
Good luck on your trip. I'll be waiting to hear how things worked out. In concept, it would seem like Vonage should work, but there is a possiblity that lag time could cause problems. Obviously, satellite service cannot be as fast as cable broadband.
__________________
Bryan & Lee Anne Richardson
Fire captain/Eagle Scout
Us Coast Guard 1970-1974
Vietnam Era Veteran
Proud parents of a US Marine
Retiring in 2007 and planning to go full-time
CampingCaptain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2006, 04:25 PM   #10
rverdlm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: On the road
Posts: 1,063
There is a yahoo group for sat internet and on there they say it works very poorly. Long lag time. You need to say over when you are done talking so the other person will know they can talk and then you must wait. I'll also be interested to see how you do.
__________________
Dave & Barbara
KenWorth T2000
2005 Mobile Suites 38RL3 #2338
MorRyde IS 8K axles, LazyBoy recliners, LCD tv
Full time since '96
rverdlm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 01:45 AM   #11
GroverPenman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
In this modern and high technology world which is also called the “information era”. There is no doubt that people now want to own the life that is safe and free and do the thing that they like and want to do. And usually such kind of life is not so easy to own for some people and as they are monitored by some device. If so the video blocker can be your good assistant.
__________________

GroverPenman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×