Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2020, 06:34 AM   #21
ElectricBill66
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: California
Posts: 1
Reply to A/C amperage.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmorse68 View Post
Hi guys,

Just noticed my Dometic Penguin 2 unit in the living/kitchen area (zone 1) is drawing too many amp when the compressor kicks on. The fan motor starts up first, and draws 1.5 - 2 amps, then the compressor kicks on. When the compressor starts up, it draws about 24 amps initially for a half a second to a second, then settles back down to 14 amps the rest of the time it runs. Thoughts? Things to check?

David
The amperage that you have measured appears to be normal. The initial start-up current is normal. The amperage for a 13,000 or a 15,000 BTU air conditioner on max cool is normally 16.1 amps. Slightly less on low cool but not by very much since all that is happening is the blower fan is at a reduced speed. Compressor still pulls same amount of current wether its on hi or low cool. If anything, your A/C is pulling less amperage. I don't know the specifics about your model but a low freon charge could cause a lower than normal current situation.
If its cooling fine, I'd say theres no problem with it. The air conditioner is on a dedicated 20 amp breaker for the reason it can draw up to 16.1 amps.
Hope this helps.
__________________

ElectricBill66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2020, 08:04 AM   #22
porthole
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmorse68 View Post
Hi guys,

Just noticed my Dometic Penguin 2 unit in the living/kitchen area (zone 1) is drawing too many amp when the compressor kicks on. The fan motor starts up first, and draws 1.5 - 2 amps, then the compressor kicks on. When the compressor starts up, it draws about 24 amps initially for a half a second to a second, then settles back down to 14 amps the rest of the time it runs. Thoughts? Things to check?

David
Google "locked-rotor amperage"
__________________

__________________
Thanks,
Duane
2019 DRV MS 39DBRS3
2011 F-350
porthole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2020, 08:16 AM   #23
porthole
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by OneReallyOldGuy View Post
Ok guys, since weíre on the subject I have a problem with one of my units. Itís complicated so pour another cup and bear with me while I lay it out. My 2019 39DBRS3 has two dometic A/Cís. (No heat pumps). Wish I had gotten three but thatís another story.

Quote:
Originally Posted by OneReallyOldGuy View Post
Oh, and I have never, nor will I ever climb my old fat a** up on my roof so visually checking it is out of the question.
I didn't see if you mentioned whether this problem is on 50 or 30 amp service.

Have you been in any areas where the debris from trees will clog a coil?
I've never been, so don't know what trees they are, but I've seen pictures of AC coils that look like they are covered in raw cotton.

We also have a 2019 39DBRS3, with the 3 AC's, and I'm glad we do.

If we are on 30 amp the load management system will dump the 2nd AC compressor if anything comes on while running. If the extra load ends soon enough the compressor delay (2.5 minutes I think) will bring up the hour glass symbol.
This is with 2 AC's running. If I try and run 3 the load management will dump the first 2 anyway.

If you can do the add on, the third AC is a real benefit in the heat.

On 'good' 50 amp service in 95+ temps we can keep the inside around 72.
On 30 amp though we are lucky to keep it around 80 with only 2 AC's and one kicking out as loads vary.
__________________
Thanks,
Duane
2019 DRV MS 39DBRS3
2011 F-350
porthole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2020, 04:19 PM   #24
OneReallyOldGuy
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Georgia
Posts: 94
Hey Duane, Iím on 50 amp with 125v on both legs, no faults. Hope I can find someone who really knows their stuff. Is it the A/C which blows cold when it runs, or the thermostat, or the load management system?
The electrical system on this thing is going whaco. Along with the A/C problem the LED lights are failing left and right, the sea level gauges on the black and gray tanks work sometimes and sometimes they show ďOPNĒ (open circuit), and this morning the microwave quit. Display turned off and itís dead. Got power to the plug.
Iím pretty sure this coach was wired starting on a Friday and finished on a Monday.
Ok, rant over.
Thanks,
Phil
__________________

OneReallyOldGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×