Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-11-2006, 06:18 PM   #1
Jim n Iowa

mdt ?

I am really new to this, but what are the parameters of a mdt, and what examples of 5'rs can it safely tow.
My reason for asking is we visited a rv dealership and liked the Hitch Hiker models. I was concerned about the weight of the models. The sales person inquired as to my thoughts on a tow vehicle. I told him I would get a 1 ton 4x4 ram. His reply was "son you could pull anything off this lot with that truck". Well I have been lurking on rv sights long enough to get concerned about 5'r weight. Also I am over 60. If we want to go full time, then a 29-31ft, which was our first choice to start out, would not be satisfactory for long. However a 35'+ would more likely fill the bill. I know a "1 ton will pull it" but will it stop it? And considering the wear and tear etc. So what do you use, and tell me about solo in ice and snow?
Jim n Iowa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 09:07 PM   #2
The Mad Norsky

Don't Listen to the Salesman

The first biggest mistake most people make in getting a fifth wheel IS:::

They listen to the salesman. And I am not fooling or being funny here. The salesman is out to make a sale, does not, with a 90% certainty here, know how to match up your truck with an appropriate fifth wheel, and neither he/she or the RV dealership is liable for any consequences their bungling may cause.

That said a couple items.

First, you would be pleased with ANY of the Hitchhiker line. A great company, good customer service and good factory support. I have owned mine for three seasons now, and it has been virtually trouble free. Mine is the Discover America (or Discover Canada, depends on where you are ) series.

I have heard the "stopping it" for a long time, but frankly do not completely buy into that. What are the fifth wheel trailer brakes for?