PDA

View Full Version : Power problem


drumbunny
11-24-2018, 03:00 PM
I'll make this short...Heartland Cyclone 3950...it has no battery. I hooked it up to a generator. Generator puts out 30amps, RV runs on 50amps so I attached a 50/30 amp adapter. Everything ran fine. Lights, bunk beds, installed radio, Dometic fridge, washer/dryer, and extra bar fridge in the back. Pop outs and awning worked fine. Did this for a few days off the generator. Decided to try my microwave to see how it performed. Ran for a minute then boom...everything shut off. No lights, no fridge, no movable bunks or pop outs. I still had 110 power to all plugs, but no breakers popped. Checked inverter fuses and all were good. Television comes on, microwave comes on, back fridge still works as does the washer/dryer, but NO fridge, no RADIO, no POP OUT, no AWNING working.
Mystery to me...about to install a battery but what the heck did I do???
Thanks

Stripit
11-25-2018, 09:38 AM
Did you check all the GFI plugs, sounds like one popped, and shut the power off on that circuit.

Notanlines
11-25-2018, 03:12 PM
Remember, when hunting for the culprit, keep in mind that all those rely on 12 volts for operation. Yes, the refrigerator also.

Dfb
12-03-2018, 05:23 PM
The battery should be in the system. It not only provides 12v power, but acts like a filter in the circuit.you system has a converter to change the ac into dc. That converter needs that battery even on 110...

jbeletti
12-03-2018, 05:32 PM
Check the 2 breakers at the generator and the 50 amp breaker in the coach breaker panel. Sounds like you may have exceeded available power on one or both legs.

elliott-maine
12-03-2018, 05:56 PM
Actually, I think you are required to carry a battery. The trailer is required to have brakes that will stop it if it breaks away from the vehicle. This requires a battery.

pterrydactyl
12-03-2018, 08:08 PM
Fridge has a fuse. access from back panel. If u have no batter then you can only do awning and slide when on shorepower and u have no auto level right?

wingnut60
12-03-2018, 08:08 PM
elliott-maine,
Good catch--had not thought of that. E-brakes are useless without a battery.

pterrydactyl
12-03-2018, 08:12 PM
What’s not working is the 12 volt side. I’d check that inverter again and I’d look for the batteries and check the fuses there. I can’t remember what they’re called but mine look like red square terminals.

Wingnut or someone remember what they’re called?

wingnut60
12-04-2018, 09:53 AM
Not sure, but I have never tried to run an RV without the battery, so can think how it is working w/o one in the system. Are the battery cables just disconnected? I assume if so, they are insulated from metal contact as the converter is trying to send current down to the non-existent battery. Somewhere in the 12volt system is a breaker that has tripped--the one that used to get me was the breaker/relay? right near the battery that had a tiny reset button on the side. If it tripped, no 12 volt.
Thats all I know...