PDA

View Full Version : 5th Wheel (cold weather) Recommendations

mbellerive
01-25-2011, 04:00 PM
I am in the market for a used 5th wheel camper (I am new to 5th wheels) and was hoping I could get some recommendations on different Manufacturers / Models that would suit my needs and are reliable / good quality.

I will be purchasing the 5th wheel in the "lower 48" and hauling it to Alaska (where I live) this summer. Since we will be using the camper primarily in Alaska, I will obviously need something that handles cold weather well. Beyond that I am flexible on the length, number of slide outs, etc. We will be using it primarily on a piece of property we own, sometimes for extended periods (1 to 2 weeks at a time).

Appreciate any feedback and suggestions...

Marty

pmkitchen
01-25-2011, 08:18 PM
We are fulltime RV travlers living in a DRV (Doubletree) 36 RS3. That is a 36 foot long, three slide unit. We love out rig and enjoy year round comfort regardless of weather. We have been in 100+ down to 8 degree weather. DRV does an outstanding job building a high quality 5th wheel coach. I suggest you go to the factory and see for yourself. I think you will be impressed.

Cheif 2
01-26-2011, 05:19 AM
We spent 6 weeks in Alaska last summer, primarily in Valdez. It was cold and rainy, but our MS stayed pretty warm although we used a 40 lb tank of propane once a week.

Motor31
01-26-2011, 08:06 AM
I would recommend an Arctic Fox product for what you intend to do. They believe in good insulation and interior seals of the slides unlike any DRV product. They also do not cut relief slots in the only seal under the main slide creating flow through ventilation like DRV does. DRV slides are also not insulated in the floor or ceiling areas.

The Arctic Fox also sets their units a bit higher on the suspension, better for rough roads than does DRV.

I also would recommend you look for heat pump equipped units if possible. It will save propane in the milder cold temperatures.