Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2018, 10:14 AM   #1
Jerome
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Fort Mill ,SC
Posts: 10
How to tell amount of propane in tanks ?

I sure want to keep up with the amount of propane we use so we do not run out. Thanks Jerome
__________________

Jerome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2018, 07:53 PM   #2
wingnut60
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wherever the Suites is
Posts: 2,628
Do you have twin tanks? Do they have an auto-changeover regulator?
__________________

__________________
2015 38RSSA #7382
2005 TK3 #1869, 10 yrs of memories
2017 F450 KR--one more Ford is it
2009 F450 4x4-died; 2010 F450-retired
wingnut60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2018, 10:26 PM   #3
Suite Sweets
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 107
This is what I bought, and I've been pleased with it. You have to pour hot water over the gauge each time you read the gauge, to make it read accurately.
https://www.amazon.com/21st-Century-.../dp/B0001UZRBG

It's my understanding that the gauges that get screwed to the top of the tank, are inaccurate, in that they show lots of pressure until the tank is almost empty, and then suddenly the pressure gauge drops precipitously.
Suite Sweets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 08:16 AM   #4
Jerome
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Fort Mill ,SC
Posts: 10
Thank you so much for the info. we will check it out.
Jerome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 10:24 AM   #5
wingnut60
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wherever the Suites is
Posts: 2,628
The water method usually gives you an indication of where the liquid propane is--not too bad an indicator if your tanks are on the outside. If the tanks are in a compartment, not so good to have water on the floor of the compartment.
While it may not suit your purposes, I always run off one tank until it runs out--even if in the middle of the night. Then switch over to the full one, knowing if I don't get the first one refilled, the next empty tank is going to result in a very upset wife.
__________________
2015 38RSSA #7382
2005 TK3 #1869, 10 yrs of memories
2017 F450 KR--one more Ford is it
2009 F450 4x4-died; 2010 F450-retired
wingnut60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 10:57 AM   #6
OCB
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 34
I use a Truma gauge, works good for me.


https://www.truma.com/int/en/product...evelcheck.html


Clay
OCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2018, 04:32 PM   #7
OneReallyOldGuy
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Georgia
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by OCB View Post
I use a Truma gauge, works good for me.


https://www.truma.com/int/en/product...evelcheck.html


Clay
The Truma gauge is a $65 flashlight with a propane level check thrown in. Seriously though, it’s the best gauge I’ve ever owned. It is very accurate and worth every penny.
OneReallyOldGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2018, 05:18 PM   #8
elliott-maine
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Maine
Posts: 55
Dometic makes an LP GasChecker that works very well. As you move it down the tank, you push it in to activate. Red no gas, green gas. The level is repeatable and accurate, and it is very reliable.
__________________
Elliott, Vicky, and Sadie, our GSD
2014 Redwood36RE Titan Disc brakes, 17.5 " Sailun Tires
2013 RAM dually, CTD, Aisin Tranny, CC, LB 4x4
elliott-maine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2018, 07:27 PM   #9
RayJack
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 2
AP Products 024-1001 Tank Check Propane Level Indicator worked for me but battery life wasn't much more than a year.
RayJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2018, 06:55 PM   #10
Rhagfo
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Oregon Coast
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerome View Post
I sure want to keep up with the amount of propane we use so we do not run out. Thanks Jerome

My methoud is to start with two full tanks, both open and auto change over regulator. I check the indicator about every other day or so. When it goes half red half green the primary tank is empty. I switch the leaver to the secondary tank and it goes full green, and becomes the primary tank,remove and have old primary tank filled and reinstall. Current regulator is very good as every time I refill the 30# tanks take 7.1 gallons to fill.
__________________
Russ & Paula & Beagles Belle
2016 Ram Laramie 3500 DRW 6.7 CTD Aisin 3.73's
2005 Copper Canyon 293 FWSLS 32í GVWR 12,360
Visit and enjoy Oregon State Parks
Rhagfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 10:09 AM   #11
hamm2018road warrior 427
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
LP Reader

I use this system:
Mopeka TankCheck LPG Tank Check Dual Sensor with Monitor Kit

it can read the level of your tanks from hundreds of miles away with the phone app. It is about $90.00 and does a good job.

I removed the auto change over because having 1 empty tank and having a full tank is better then having 2 empty tanks at 3 in the morning. (just my thoughts)
hamm2018road warrior 427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 11:20 AM   #12
wingnut60
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wherever the Suites is
Posts: 2,628
Agree with the 'not having 2 empty tanks' but for a different reason--don't want to face my wife at 3am and no propane...
__________________
2015 38RSSA #7382
2005 TK3 #1869, 10 yrs of memories
2017 F450 KR--one more Ford is it
2009 F450 4x4-died; 2010 F450-retired
wingnut60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 02:28 PM   #13
hamm2018road warrior 427
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
LP tank check

Quote:
Originally Posted by wingnut60 View Post
Agree with the 'not having 2 empty tanks' but for a different reason--don't want to face my wife at 3am and no propane...
Same reason trust me, been there
hamm2018road warrior 427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 06:25 PM   #14
onetonford
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern California
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by hamm2018road warrior 427 View Post
I use this system:
Mopeka TankCheck LPG Tank Check Dual Sensor with Monitor Kit

it can read the level of your tanks from hundreds of miles away with the phone app. It is about $90.00 and does a good job.

I removed the auto change over because having 1 empty tank and having a full tank is better then having 2 empty tanks at 3 in the morning. (just my thoughts)

Why remove the auto change over just leave the other tank off until needed that is what I usually do.
__________________
2001 Ford F350 7.3 CC LB DRW
2011 Wildcat 25 RL
Maintenance Mechanic 40+yrs
onetonford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2019, 09:10 AM   #15
wingnut60
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wherever the Suites is
Posts: 2,628
Exactly, the 'auto-changeover' can't change if the other tank is off--that's my method.
__________________
2015 38RSSA #7382
2005 TK3 #1869, 10 yrs of memories
2017 F450 KR--one more Ford is it
2009 F450 4x4-died; 2010 F450-retired
wingnut60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2019, 02:50 PM   #16
Vampire
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
anyone use a digital temp gun to check the tanks? I understand this works good. just need to pour water over tanks first.
Vampire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2019, 11:50 PM   #17
Hanr3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by onetonford View Post
Why remove the auto change over just leave the other tank off until needed that is what I usually do.
Same here. When it empties I close the valve and open tank #2 valve. The only downside to this method is the middle of the night and no heat. I'm used to it, the misses not so much. However she doesn't winter camp so its all good.
Hanr3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 11:41 PM   #18
lensmanicu
Junior Member
 
lensmanicu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 20
Go out early morning when itís cool outside you will see a DEW line on outside of tank thatís the level of the propane. You can also get a propane gauge from Walmart lawn and garden center instal on main outgoing gas line it should be in area where BBQ grills are. Hope this helps
lensmanicu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2019, 06:58 PM   #19
batchbuilder
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 2
I only turn the front tank on and carry third 30# tank to replace it when empty , I find it pain replacing the second unless I have to , it nice to slide the tanks out but a pain putting the back tank
batchbuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2019, 05:03 PM   #20
grafton guns
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 18
We purchased a tank level gauge that screws onto the tank then the hose screws into the gauge. I have two tanks marked 1 and 2 I use number one. When it gets close to empty I'll use number 2 BTW, I had the tanks full in 2016 when I purchased my 2017 Eagle HT 27.5 RLTS And, Have not had to use the second tank yet! I run the fridge on auto as I use the campground power. And only use the propane enroute to the campground to keep the fridge cold. I have a separate 20lb tank that I use for my Q2000 or the Blackstone griddle.
__________________

__________________
2017 Jayco Eagle HT 27.5 RLTS
2016 Ford F-350 crew cab Lariat 6.2L
grafton guns is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×