Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-29-2016, 05:22 PM   #1
bpage1124

Lurching Trailer

Hello all and thank you in advance for any help you can give.

I'm new to the RV world and bought my first RV a 2011 Forest River XLR Toy Hauler last spring. My wife and I had a great time on the trips that we were able to take but noticed one very nerve raking thing.

The trailer seems to lurch forward while being towed at a steady pace. This only seems to occur on roads that have bumps or seams or cracks that run across the road.

Does anyone have any idea how to stop this?

Thanks

bpage1124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2016, 08:30 PM   #2
Stripit

Send a message via AIM to Stripit Send a message via MSN to Stripit Send a message via Yahoo to Stripit
Some folks feel the weight difference between the 7,000lb truck and the 15,000 or higher weight trailer lets the trailer control the truck, pushing it as the trailer rolls and moves over the uneven road surface. Having a quality hitch that will absorb some of the push will help remove the majority of the 'push' feeling your getting. In another thread there is discussion on the reason for an air hitch and this is just one of those reasons to own one. It will absorb the movements being forced from the trailer to the tuck.

1991 Avanti Conv
Stripit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2016, 08:38 PM   #3
bpage1124

Thanks for the feedback Stacey
bpage1124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2016, 09:20 PM   #4
wingnut60
Site Team

Need some info--what type of pin box/hitch is on the trailer? Does it act the same whether the toy is on board or not?