Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-09-2012, 02:10 AM   #1
Terry Weier

I am in need of advise

I am a chief inspector for a major natural gas company and a full timer. My question is I am in a 2006 Kountry Aire and ready to upgrade. I put an order in for a Elite 38 RESB3 with a bunch of custom work and paid the $5000 dollar deposit to have it built. Did I make a mistake I have talked to a few people and not liked what I have heard. I hope these are isolated cases because if I spend 140+ on something and have a bunch of issues I will make my Lawyer a rich man.The problem is I cant find a company that is building anything I like with the Luxury of DRV. I also know it dosn't matter what color you paint a turd in the long run you still have a piece of @@@@, it doesn't mater the cost. My Kountry Aire has been I great unit and everyone knows the quality they put into them I just hope DRV can compete. I have been in the Quality Control industry for a very long time and will go through it with a fine tooth comb before I take delivery of it. (Are there any other Luxury full timers being built)

Terry Weier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 08:04 AM   #2
Motor31

If you were looking for a good custom built item you had two options. New Horizons and Space Craft. Both build to customer specs and do top level work. They are also more expensive.

DRV has a hot or miss reputation. The apologists will tell you that all RV manufacturers have problems. The fan boys will tell you DRV never makes any mistakes. Others like myself are dearly disappointed in what happened to our rigs ands spent years as well as many dollars to fix the mistakes at the factory. Some of us are still dealing with problems years later.