Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2018, 03:00 PM   #1
drumbunny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 1
Power problem

I'll make this short...Heartland Cyclone 3950...it has no battery. I hooked it up to a generator. Generator puts out 30amps, RV runs on 50amps so I attached a 50/30 amp adapter. Everything ran fine. Lights, bunk beds, installed radio, Dometic fridge, washer/dryer, and extra bar fridge in the back. Pop outs and awning worked fine. Did this for a few days off the generator. Decided to try my microwave to see how it performed. Ran for a minute then boom...everything shut off. No lights, no fridge, no movable bunks or pop outs. I still had 110 power to all plugs, but no breakers popped. Checked inverter fuses and all were good. Television comes on, microwave comes on, back fridge still works as does the washer/dryer, but NO fridge, no RADIO, no POP OUT, no AWNING working.
Mystery to me...about to install a battery but what the heck did I do???
Thanks
__________________

drumbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2018, 09:38 AM   #2
Stripit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Home Prescott, Az
Posts: 957
Send a message via AIM to Stripit Send a message via MSN to Stripit Send a message via Yahoo to Stripit
Did you check all the GFI plugs, sounds like one popped, and shut the power off on that circuit.
__________________

__________________
2018 Holiday Rambler Admiral 31A
2015 Cadillac SRX (towed)
2008 Lexus 400H
1991 Avanti Conv
Stripit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2018, 03:12 PM   #3
Notanlines
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Germantown, Tennessee
Posts: 193
Remember, when hunting for the culprit, keep in mind that all those rely on 12 volts for operation. Yes, the refrigerator also.
__________________
Jim and DW Brenda
2017 38rssa
Patches the old doxie
Harley Roadking & sidecar
Notanlines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2018, 05:23 PM   #4
Dfb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 5
The battery should be in the system. It not only provides 12v power, but acts like a filter in the circuit.you system has a converter to change the ac into dc. That converter needs that battery even on 110...
Dfb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2018, 05:32 PM   #5
jbeletti
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 24
Check the 2 breakers at the generator and the 50 amp breaker in the coach breaker panel. Sounds like you may have exceeded available power on one or both legs.
jbeletti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2018, 05:56 PM   #6
elliott-maine
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Maine
Posts: 30
Actually, I think you are required to carry a battery. The trailer is required to have brakes that will stop it if it breaks away from the vehicle. This requires a battery.
__________________
Elliott, Vicky, and Hanna, our GSD
2014 Redwood36RE
2013 RAM dually, CTD with Aisin Tranny, CC, LB 4x4
elliott-maine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2018, 08:08 PM   #7
pterrydactyl
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 53
Fridge has a fuse. access from back panel. If u have no batter then you can only do awning and slide when on shorepower and u have no auto level right?
pterrydactyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2018, 08:08 PM   #8
wingnut60
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wherever the Suites is
Posts: 2,272
elliott-maine,
Good catch--had not thought of that. E-brakes are useless without a battery.
__________________
2015 38RSSA #7382
2005 TK3 #1869, 10 yrs of memories
2017 F450 KR--one more Ford is it
2009 F450 4x4-died; 2010 F450-retired
wingnut60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2018, 08:12 PM   #9
pterrydactyl
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 53
What’s not working is the 12 volt side. I’d check that inverter again and I’d look for the batteries and check the fuses there. I can’t remember what they’re called but mine look like red square terminals.

Wingnut or someone remember what they’re called?
pterrydactyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2018, 09:53 AM   #10
wingnut60
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wherever the Suites is
Posts: 2,272
Not sure, but I have never tried to run an RV without the battery, so can think how it is working w/o one in the system. Are the battery cables just disconnected? I assume if so, they are insulated from metal contact as the converter is trying to send current down to the non-existent battery. Somewhere in the 12volt system is a breaker that has tripped--the one that used to get me was the breaker/relay? right near the battery that had a tiny reset button on the side. If it tripped, no 12 volt.
Thats all I know...
__________________

__________________
2015 38RSSA #7382
2005 TK3 #1869, 10 yrs of memories
2017 F450 KR--one more Ford is it
2009 F450 4x4-died; 2010 F450-retired
wingnut60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.