Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2018, 06:57 PM   #11
pterrydactyl
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 75
An older or newer router reconfigured to an Access Point (AP) would allow to to plug into it. It then broadcast the signal and can use multiply devices.

I’m not an electronics or computer wiz but this was the understanding I got when it was explained to me.

I was hoping that someone had use it and could tell how well it performed.

Thanks
__________________

pterrydactyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 11:17 PM   #12
Helipilot
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 20
I wonder who does the "reconfiguration" on the old router? I have two older units that could be modified.
__________________

Helipilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2018, 10:27 AM   #13
pterrydactyl
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 75
There are instructions on YouTube. That’s where I found out about the AP. My router is a Linksys WRT54g and was used in the video. Step by step instructions were given. I also found instructions on line with screen shots of what to do. This modification has the AP picking up the signal and rebroadcasting the signal then picking up you sendings and back to the signal source. I’m just wondering how will the antenna/booster works from inside the RV. Would an external antenna be more of more benefit.
pterrydactyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2018, 09:50 PM   #14
Helipilot
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 20
Thanks for that information pterrydactyl. I'll check it out
Helipilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2018, 10:05 PM   #15
pterrydactyl
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 75
Newer router

There are newer routers that are AP capable. Search on Amazon for “WiFi router with access point”. There are a fair number of new routers with a spread of prices. They didn’t exist when I made the Linksys an access point.
pterrydactyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 07:52 PM   #16
Hanr3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rooh9699 View Post
Its been working great. I might change the 16ft pole to a 22ft pole, but other then that, working great.

Please let me know if you need mre detail.

Dave
I'd like more detail.
What is the bottom picture, what is that called, and where do I find it?
Even more basic question, forgive my ignorance. I get the concept of a booster, but how d?o you make one out of an old router? How do you get it to receive and transmit
__________________

Hanr3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
halo, long range, wifi

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.