PDA

View Full Version : Very very noisy dooe side slide

stanleyz
11-28-2016, 09:59 AM
2005 36 TK3 Just wondering if anyone else had dealt with this problem and how they resolved it. The door side slide works very well but it is making a loud racket both in and out. Sounds like rusty metal against rusty metal or possibly a bearing going bad. I've tried lubrication of the parts that can be reached without opening anything up. Tried Silicon, then WD 40, then oil. Had no impact with any of them.

Questions, who has had a similar problem and solved it? How? What is the best access, through the bottom of the slide or up through the dirt shield? I have an advanced degree in "shade tree mechanics" but is this a job best left to the pros?

wingnut60
11-28-2016, 04:08 PM
Stanley,
You will need to get under the trailer and open the belly pan along the slide bar/track area. You need to get a look at the gear paks that operate the slide tracks--I will bet that they are very worn at the brass bushings area. Both front and rear paks will need a look, if one is worn the other will be getting that way.
I replaced both of the gear paks on my trailer, and it is straght-forward work. Just give some thought on where to cut the pan and how to replace it. There is a lot of 1x2 wood lathe that most of the pan is attched to. Once you get the pan cut (opening needs to be large enough for you to get your head/shoulders up in the basement area) and moved, the workings will be obvious and when wife operates the slide with you down there watching, you'll see where the noise is coming from.
But at the age of our trailers, I vote worn-out gear paks.
Joe

wingnut60
11-28-2016, 04:47 PM
Stanley,

Here are some pics under there--hope it helps.

When you check with Lippert, there should be 2 types--regular and heavy duty. I would opt for the heavy duty.

I used the bottle jack to take pressure off the rack to replace the gear pak.

Joe

stanleyz
11-28-2016, 05:27 PM