PDA

View Full Version : Newbie - Minnesota

SlowNnice
05-23-2015, 02:55 PM
We purchased a 2014 and took delivery 12/2013. We are full timers and I am a manager for large Heavy Industrial construction. My wife and I sold three (3) homes and moved into this to reduce the constant moving of our stuff. We just sold it all.

We love the DRV 43 foot Cincinnati and still have a lot to learn about the unite. My latest search has been centered around hooking up two Honda EU3000is generators. I have purchased a parallel kit and the combined unit is 48 Amps but comes with a plug that does not match my RV hook up plugs (30Amp or 50 Amp)

I am trying to figure out how to hook it up to my DRV "Gen Prep" that I paid for with the RV (We had it built for us)

Hopefully I will find some answers on here. This looks like a good site.:)

Tim Griffin

wingnut60
05-23-2015, 04:56 PM
Well, that is a huge trailer, and would guess you have 3 ACs?
Have not heard of anyone here or on the SOITC putting together what you have--did not know that the 3000s could be paralleled. Guess you have a good reason for not having the 6500 Onan in the gen bay?
Remember, that a 50amp RV service is 120volts on each leg, not 240volts. I don't think you can feed the 240volt output from the gens into the 50amp plug, but I am not an electrician. There are adapter plugs for the 30amp output to a standard extension cord, but that isn't what you are needing.
Welcome to the forum, and let everyone know what you find out to do to get it working.
Joe

hitchup
05-23-2015, 05:15 PM
We had a Gen Prep for our 2006 Elite. It would have needed additional dealer prep installation to work with an onboard generator. So to simplify, DH built a pull-out shelf and we lifted up a Yamaha 6600 generator.